Premed 101 Forums

I'm having a midlife crisis at 26, help!

Hi everyone, I need some advice. Up until this evening I was convinced that I wanted to abandon my dream of pursuing medicine but after talking to some of you over the past few days I'm not entirely sure anymore. 

A bit about me and why I decided to give up in the first place. I'm 26 years old, I know people have started med much later so this isn't the issue. I've been applying to med school for 5 years, Ive done research, I did a master's degree in occupational therapy, I've got one year experience working as a licensed OT and am about to start my second year as a mental health OT. My stats themselves aren't anything to write home about, I had 3.92 GPA in undergrad and a 510 MCAT (126 CARS). My extracurriculars, experience as a healthcare professional and references however are quite strong. 

For 4 years I got rejection after rejection, I'd always tell myself that if I got an interview anywhere I'd make the most of it and get in. I'm confident that I would (A clinical masters and experience in a health care profession do wonders for your confidence). Finally I got an interview at Mac last year. I was ecstatic, this was my chance. Then Covid happened and it got cancelled. Then the lottery happened. 

I decided that it just wasn't in the cards for me and tried to just move on despite knowing I was guaranteed an interview next year at Mac. I'm getting married next year, I've got student loans to pay off and a ton of family responsibilities. I told myself a career in OT will be great, I still get to help people, i still get to make a difference every single day, and get paid a reasonable amount to do it. I get to spend a lot more time with my amazing wonderful wife-to-be and future family. It all seemed great.