Premed 101 Forums

Need Advice Re Electives

I am a 4th year med student, just starting my 4th year electives. I had a difficult time choosing between FM and IM when I was choosing my electives so I ended up doing 8 weeks of FM (combination of rural and hospitalist) and 12 weeks of IM (combination of CTU, GIM, and subspecialties). However, after finishing all of my core rotations, I believe that I am more suitable for IM but I would like to match at all costs and therefore applying to FM as back up.

I am concerned that with the level of competitiveness for IM last year, my 12 weeks of IM electives are not going to be enough since I also prefer to match to my home school if possible. I am wondering if I should change my rural FM electives to an IM subspecialty or just keep things as is??? I would really appreciate any suggestions/tips as I am feeling really worried about my elective selection.

This may not be relevant and I may be an outlier. I applied to 3 fields, two of which were highly competitive. Ultimately, I was selected in a small surgical specialty. There were 80 applicants, 40 interviewees, the majority of whom were gunners. Not one gunner was selected! It all came down to whom was considered to be “a good fit”. The time I devoted to this specialty was minimal. However, I quickly got along with the resident and attending, they found me to be a hard worker, collaborative, easy to get along with, and I believe that I was preselected before the 10 minute interview. On the basis of “qualifications” in the field, I was the least qualified! I was a perfect fit and it worked out well for all.

• 2 weeks later...

That's interesting! I wonder if it holds true for large programs like IM too?  ... I am just hoping that I am not going to be at a disadvantage because I am not doing all of my electives in IM and I am also doing some in FP ... At this point, it's so difficult to change anything as there are no good IM electives available in province :(