Premed 101 Forums

Do med schools care what university you go to for undergrad?

Hey guys, I have a question that I would like to get answer to. I am a grade 12 student and I will be going to York or UofT next year. My question is: will medical school care which university I go to for my undergraduate degree. I think I can achive a higher GPA at York than at UofT, I will definitely get more scholarships at York and York is closer to my home (30 minutes) compare to UofT (2 hours). UofT has a better reputation than York. Which university should I chose if my aim is to get into med school?

Thanks for your help.

• Replies 98
  • Created
  • Last Reply

York. In Canada, university reputation is pretty much insignificant. I say 'pretty much' only because there may be members on the panel who may have gone to the same uni as you (if they are even given that info) which might give you a miniscule advantage. Just go to the school you'll get better grades at...you'll thank yourself when you are applying to med.

I should also mention that even though there are some schools where you will probably get worse marks...your effort and study habits have waaay more to do with that than the school you attend. People who do well at one school will generally do well at most other schools.

* I think I can achive a higher GPA at York than at UofT

* I will definitely get more scholarships at York

* York is closer to my home

Those sound like pretty good reasons to go to York.

Relax. People from every undergraduate university in Canada get into all sorts of med schools.

if you live in the GTA, your interviewer may ask why you chose to attend York instead of stepping up to the challenge at Toronto. Just to warn you ahead of time. It's your decision at the end anyway.
Imho, the chances of this happening are near to zero. Interviewers are careful not to say anything that is potentially offensive to the student being interviewed, and this would definitely fall in that category.