Premed 101 Forums

Waterloo Health Studies

vpv

Hello, I've posted several times before. I just needed some advice. I am a senior in high school with hopes of attending a North-American medical school. With december slowly approaching, we will be making up our minds about the universities to apply to and attend.

If there is someone who has finished their undergrad at Waterloo or in the health studies program, can you please give me some feedback? Is co-op really useful when applying to medical schools? Is the Waterloo Health studies program like the U of T programs where you work your behinds off and end up with a 75? Or is it easier in comparison to that?

Your help is highly appreciated.

vpv

I am in my last year in Honors Biology and right now applying to med schools. If you are certain that you want to go to med school i would recommend going into Bio-med program. It is straight forward and you can finish with a decent GPA. You get a lot of electives (for some of which you have to pick upper year bio courses but still you get to decide what you want).

If you want a little more then take Biology. It is more specialized but in my experience a little harder than bio-med (some first year courses for biology are second year courses for bio-med)

If you want even more harder and you are crazy take Biochemistry. I have not known anybody who has an average more than 80 in that program.

I am grateful for both of your responses. I have a few questions.

TO Dollie:

When you said you can work your butt off and end up with a mark higher than 75, did u mean like "A"s or just "B+" s and "B"s?

I am actually interested in co-op because i can get both the work experience and some money to pay back for my undergrad education so that when I proceed to med school (that is if I do), I can start debt-free and begin taking loans.