Premed 101 Forums

Undergrad: Queen's vs Western

DreamDoc

I am a highschool student planning to study science in university. I narrowed down the universities I would like to attend Queen's or Western. I just wanted some opinions on these schools from people who attended one of them. The Biomedical science program attracts me to Western and the name/reputation attracts me to Queen's. I am planning to apply to medical school in the states and was wondering if it would make a difference to which univeristy I attended. Thanks.

makes no difference. don't go based on name/reputation. i know somebody from UPEI (not as well known as queens or western) that interviewed in the states.

pick the program that YOU like the best because you'll get better grades when you're learning something you actually enjoy.

As the above posted... chose the one that fits you best (location is a biggy...)

I've spent my fair share of time at Western and would recommend it highly. The campus is gorgeous, and they keep pouring money into new facilities.

But generally when you ask a question like this the only answers favoring one over another will be a product of allegiance and pride. Among the bigger schools in Canada you have a nearly equal opportunity to accomplish what you're aiming for at any one of them (with the odd specific exception).

Well, definitely pick the program you want over name / reputation, especially given that both schools have a good name. The main difference between Queen's Life Sci and Western Biomed is that Western has narrow specializations and Queen's is more general, though that's been changing lately. In terms of culture, my impression is that Western has somewhat more of the fashion / partying / sorority type of thing (could be good or bad depending on what you want), and it's bigger than Queen's, so it has somewhat more clubs and courses but a bit less of a community feel. They're really pretty similar though - good luck choosing!