Premed 101 Forums

Own clinic

hp18

I didn't read the OP's question as referring to a *private* clinic.. just one's *own* clinic.. and rad onc does spend a significant portion of their time seeing clinic patients in the cancer centre.

Sorry.....I meant private clinic......owned by me........

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Private rad clinics exist, and private path labs could exist.

The caveat on this is that you would need many partners to go in with you. The overhead for setting up such a clinic would be monstrous. Like Bill Gates monstrous.

On the rads side of things, the equipment would be unbelievably expensive, so that initial outlay of cash to get things up and running would be breathtakingly huge. On the path side, most of the equipment wouldn't be so terribly expensive, but you would need to hire a small army to work for you.

(I work in a lab . . . there are a lot of people needed to do all the things that turn path specimens into slides/results).

But, if you were to partner up with a cash-laden backer, there's no reason (to my knowledge) why you couldn't start either a private rad or path service.

(I'm betting, though, that your clinic would have to employ many radiologists or pathologists besides yourself . . . I don't think that you could possibly do enough work by yourself to break even, ever).

Other than family med, which other specialties allow me to have my own clinic?