Premed 101 Forums

UBC med school questions - please help

So I just got off the waitlist and am currently deciding between U of T and UBC. I was hoping some current students can answer the following questions for me:

I just got off the OPP waitlist and need to decide between U of T and UBC in the next two days.

1. Does honours/pass/fail have a strong affect on competition for residency? I know most other schools are now pass/fail and I imagine a student with all honours would have an advantage. Also, does this lead to competition in the classroom? On that note, how much is pass?

2. How do you find having all your exams in one week and a half? I know many other schools break it down throughout the semester. Finally, is the PBL material on exams.... or is it just lecture material?

3. What's the cost of living in Vancouver. Ie. a bachelor apartment or getting a place with some roomates?

Any advice you have would be great,

Thanks

Aneta

I was a dental student taking the same courses so I can answer some questions if you would like.

2. It's horrible. Try memorizing 4 2-inch binders full of notes and retaining it all together at once. PBL and lectures are both on exams, but they seem to contain less PBL stuff. I really envied those who had block exams... Although you constantly have an upcoming exam, but at least you don't have to jam all that info in your brain at once.

3. I can't tell you since I lived at home, but I recall my friend telling me it's more expensive than Toronto.

So I just got off the waitlist and am currently deciding between U of T and UBC. I was hoping some current students can answer the following questions for me:

I just got off the OPP waitlist and need to decide between U of T and UBC in the next two days.