Premed 101 Forums

anesthesiology job market in vancouver

Hi everyone,

I am a third year med student and I am contemplating anesthesiology. I feel really strongly about choosing a specialty that will allow me to work wherever i want to work namely within Vancouver as my entire family is here. Obviously family medicine would allow me to do that but i was wondering if I did anesthesiology (wherever for 5 years) would I be able to come back and practice in vancouver for sure? They say theres's a shortage of anesthesiologists but i would imagine not in the lower mainland...

thanks.

• 2 weeks later...

It is, of course, harder to get jobs in bigger centres such as Vancouver.

In general, it is getting harder for anesthesiologist to get jobs, compared to previously. Many of those nearing the end of their residency are contemplating fellowships.

It is also hard to predict what the job market will be once you are done. Things can change in the next 6 or so years.

So if it is something you think you would like, consider doing it, but just accept that maybe you'll be working in a smaller centre or a bigger centre somewhere else for awhile, if there are no spots immediately available when you want them.

When you are on your electives/core rotations, you can try and ask your staff docs what the job market looks like (now). Just keep in mind it may be alot different by the time you are done.

• 1 month later...