Premed 101 Forums

Small Questions :)

Hi guys

I'm entering first year at UBC this fall,

and I am hoping to get some advices on effective studying (?)

My goal is to major in pharmacology then head for med school :)

1. How did you, or do you, balance extracurriculars and studying?

2. Should I get a voice recorder to record lectures?

3. I am confused about when selecting majors happen.. is it when you're entering second year or third year?

4. Any suggestions on how I can do well in first year English? My essays are really weak.

Thank you

I'm entering first year at UBC this fall.

1. I strongly advise you to completely avoid ECs at least for the first semester and until you are able to maintain top grades, which is your no.1 priority.

In my case, in my first year of UG, I did zero volunteering but did continue with my ECs that I had been doing for many years. Once I attained straight As in my second semester in first year, I then was able to comfortably engage in volunteering.

I leanred to study efficiently for me, we are each so different, I kept up to date always with the class, I did my assignments on time, I developed good time and stress management skills, I learned to multitask efficiently, I studied when on the bus so as to use my time efficiently as possible, my lap top was always near me, so for down time with an EC, I could work on an assignment, etc.

2. Voice recording is a double edged sword b/c there is so much duplication and inefficiencies are involved. I found that by being attentive in class, I was able to focus and take good notes. Betweenclasses, I woulkld do spell check and organize my notes. One stop shopping. My sibling was studying in French and so voice recorded everything in case of not understanding something during lectures. As self-confidence increaseed, after first year, the voice recording was terminated.