Premed 101 Forums

MPH @ Dalla Lana - UofT

The MPH program at the Dalla Lana School of Public Health at UofT sounds really interesting. I'm curious if anyone has experience studying here or anything experience applying for the program? If so, I'm curious about what your experiences have been as well as the type of applicants they may be typically looking for in terms of admittance?

Thanks!

• Replies 73
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I am currently a student in Epidemiology at U of T finishing up my first year.

In terms of admittance, they accept about 10% of applicants (our class this year is about 30 people). As its competitive, the higher the GPA the better (most people I have talked to had at least a 3.7 in the last two years), although having a strong background in either research or public health work will also give you points (can compensate for lower grades). When writing your letter of intent, make an argument for why their program fits you - it is unique in a number of ways compared to other MPH programs in Ontario.

If you have any other questions, I would be happy to answer them.

If you haven't discovered the cure for aids, built a hospital from scratch with your bare hands in a third world country, or solved world hunger... you don't have much of a shot of being admitted.

In all seriousness, I would guesstimate that acceptance is just as tough as medical school coming straight out of undergrad. It would help to have other life experiences that relate to your interest in public health. It is a very competitive program, but a fantastic area to work in.

The world is not going to wait around for you to get into medical school. You need to be able to support yourself - rent, food, family, and med school applications are all expensive. I don't feel bad at all for wanting to become a doctor and enrolling in the MPH program. It puts me in a great place.