Premed 101 Forums

pHD student having second thoughts

Hi All,

I'm a long time lurker but have been inspired by everyone's stories! I'd appreciate some advice and I know how good you guys are at giving it. I am in my 3rd year of grad studies overall, and in the first year of the pHD program. I plan to finish next year (2013), in my fourth year.

My Stats:

Education:

Honours BSC: U of T in 2009

MSc: U of A (2011)

Currently continuing a pHD in Neuroscience at the U of A (1st year, and 3rd year overall of grad studies in the same program)

GPA

OMSAS cGPA: 3.3

OMSAS wGPA (3 years): 3.61

OMSAS last 2 years GPA: 3.795

Non OMSAS last 2 years GPA: 3.81

Grad GPA: 3.9

Science GPA for pre reqs: extremely poor - probably around 2.5, but have all pre-reqs except english and half year biochem

Research

3 first author publications in mid-impact journals

2 publications in prep (1 first author, 1 second author)

5 national/international conferences

Supervision of 6 undergraduates, 1 graduate student

Volunteer Activities

A few academic volunteer gigs

A few community volunteer gigs

-I'd say overall moderate extra-curriculars considering intensity of grad school and I supervise so many undergraduates.

MCAT

Biggest hurdle for me - registered twice, studied a little, cancelled twice. I have been so busy with my grad program (planned to finish Master's and pHD in 4 years). My candidacy is upcoming, so I'm not sure if I'll have time to study much for the MCAT. This may be perceived as an excuse albeit a somewhat valid one.

My backup career is consulting, and backup for the backup is traditional academia.