Premed 101 Forums

Most Productive Undergrad Research Technique

AshPreMed

Hi, I'm an undergraduate pursuing an H.B.Sc.. I may get a research project position in a lab. I want to do a technique that is contributive to lots of research (to increase publication chance). Which of: immunocytochemistry, western blotting, and PCR is recommended?

Thanks

Hi, I'm an undergraduate pursuing an H.B.Sc.. I may get a research project position in a lab on neuroendocrinology. I want to do a technique that is contributive to lots of research (to increase publication chance) and that isn't likely to cause too much mistakes, complications (work), and trouble. Which of: immunocytochemistry, western blotting, and PCR is not too complex and prone to errors? I find Immunocytochemistry so nice because you can see the movements of things and its so beautiful.

Thanks

Do what you enjoy. That way in your med school interview when they ask about it you can say "I find it so beautiful" instead of "Well i was more likely to get published" or have to make up a lie.

Hi, I'm an undergraduate pursuing an H.B.Sc.. I may get a research project position in a lab on neuroendocrinology. I want to do a technique that is contributive to lots of research (to increase publication chance) and that isn't likely to cause too much mistakes, complications (work), and trouble. Which of: immunocytochemistry, western blotting, and PCR is not too complex and prone to errors? I find Immunocytochemistry so nice because you can see the movements of things and its so beautiful.

Thanks

I think you need to contribute more than just running PCRs or blotting to warrant an authorship on a paper

Do you know how much work (roughly) I need to do for an average publication? Is theory needed to get published (writing theories with them)?