Premed 101 Forums

Advantage of US undergrad??

lefty07

Hey everyone!

I'm a grade 12 student from Canada & I'm considering applying to some US schools but have a few questions. I would really appreciate it if you could please help answer some of my questions -- thanks in advance!

I want to study biochemistry & then medicine. Would I have any advantage if I attended a US school for undergrad, in terms of admissions to medical school/better preparation? I've heard that schools in Canada like McGill & University of Toronto are basically at the same level as the really good schools in USA in terms of caliber, rigour, etc. If I attend one of these Canadian schools for undergrad & apply for med school in the US, will I be at a disadvantage being an international student? It's harder to get admissions in Canadian med schools because there are far less seats and lots of international students who apply, but I figured since there are more schools in the US I'll have more chances to get in so I should apply there for med school as well. Also, I was thinking of not applying to US for undergrad because it's a LOT more expensive and I don't think it's worth it. Basically, what I want to know is: will I be at a disadvantage applying to US med schools coming from a Canadian undergrad?

Also, is there any advantage of attending an Ivy League school for undergrad if you want to get into med school in the US (not necessarily an Ivy med, just any good school)? I've heard that it matters if you want to go to law school, but I'm not sure if that's true at all, for law OR medicine. I am thinking of applying for this reason (not sure if I would get in, though) but again, it's VERY expensive.