Premed 101 Forums

Research Assistant positions

Under 'Employment/Volunteer' or 'Research'?

My roles in these projects were mostly in the data collection phase (recruiting participants, organizing samples, etc). I haven't directly been involved in any dissemination of results.

If I list it under Research, what would I put for "Type of Publication"? I'm assuming they only want to hear about pubs/presentations that I am an author on.

• 5 years later...

I'm sorry but I would not include "acknowledgements" in the Research section, please do not do that. Being "acknowledged" is not a legitimate type of publication and it will almost certainly look like padding!

If you started as a volunteer RA then got employed, describe both - i.e. two entries, one for volunteer and one for employment. I did the same. Don't worry about your short employment already - put hours until Oct 1st, they will note the transition

18 minutes ago, TwitterMedicine said:

Being acknowledged is not insignificant or illegitimate and is worthy of a research entry. Sure if you have a publication or a few presentations you can omit it from what you include since you've already demonstrated your research abilities. But if someone only has an acknowledgement by the time they apply, then why would they not include that?? You assume it's easy to be acknowledged on a publication (hint: it's not). You are spouting high horse bullshit.

"High horse bullshit" is really strong language, I wonder if your threshold for getting pissed off would also be that low as a doctor.