Premed 101 Forums

Nurse Practitioner applying to med school

Hi everyone,

I'm currently working as a Nurse Practitioner and have recently completed my masters of public health. I am contemplating applying to medical school, however my undergraduate marks from when I completed my nursing degree 9 years ago are not great (GPa-2.7). My most recent marks after completing the np and masters program are substantially higher (3.7). I'm just wondering if these most recent marks are considered as opposed to my grades 9 years ago.

Hi everyone,

I'm currently working as a Nurse Practitioner and have recently completed my masters of public health. I am contemplating applying to medical school, however my undergraduate marks from when I completed my nursing degree 9 years ago are not great (GPa-2.7). My most recent marks after completing the np and masters program are substantially higher (3.7). I'm just wondering if these most recent marks are considered as opposed to my grades 9 years ago.

Graduate level adds very little to the bottom line in terms of assessment to meet GPA cut offs.

2.7 wouldn't meet any of the cut offs but is that your school GPA or OMSAS GPA?

That said, please post the breakdown of GPA using OMSAS scale for each year of your undergrad 9 years ago but in the end it looks like the only shot you'll have is a second degree.

Year 1:3.0

Year 2:2.3

Year3:2.3

Year4:2.9

It looks like my undergrad gpa is worse than I thought when calculating it using the omsas.... It is a shame because my Nurse Practitioner marks are great. Not sure where to go from here....

Full time second degree likely.

IMG is an option in theory, but you run a major risk of never getting a residency given the increased number of CMG's and US grads. The US will likely be unavailable to Canadian IMG's in 2015 and later. Then you have 200-300k of debt and no way to pay it off.

NP isn't that bad. I would keep at that. If you want more autonomy maybe you could go to a more rural area.