Premed 101 Forums

My apologies if I am posting this in the wrong place. I really want to attend Schulich and I figure I will get better responses in this thread. I would like to know how heavily Western looks at reference letters and the ABS for an interview. I am a recent Western grad from BMSc. I have a Western GPA of 3.93 (yr 3 was 3.97, yr 4 was 3.88). My 1st MCAT was a lousy 28 (10/6/12) and I am retaking next week. I am also a SWOMEN applicant. However, I feel that my reference letters will be nowhere near "spectacular" or "exceptional" to say the least, and my ABS is not as stellar as the majority of Canadian applicants. I have 3 summers of hospital volunteering, about 120 hours of tutoring, a couple campus clubs, and one summer of volunteering in a research lab. Also did not have a job during undergrad (Yes, I know that is bad, but there are reasons for it). Would I still have a "decent chance" at getting an interview, assuming I meet the MCAT cut-offs for SWOMEN applicants?

Thank you

I'm hoping that someone will correct me if I am wrong, but in sending interview invitations, Western only takes GPA and MCAT scores into account?

I believe that your EC's will be looked at after the interview invite step. As far as EC's are concerned, highlight what you have learned through the experiences that you do have. Don't be discouraged by the long lists of EC's found on this forum.

So my advice is rock your MCAT! Best of luck :)

I feel relatively certain that in least in terms of getting an interview, they don't look at your ABS or references. Basically, if you meet their minimum cut-offs (you can look up the past couple years cut-offs, they will likely stay in the region of those), you get an interview.