Premed 101 Forums

Medical Genetic vs Anatomical Pathology ?

Ditu

Hi there,

I'm 3th year med student and I'm interested in molecular and lab medicine.

Could someone please give me some comparison between MG and AP in term of lifestyle, income, job market and especially recidency safe !

I appreciate your comment !

Ditu

2 of Brooksbane's favorite specialties. They're 2 extremely different fields and I've done rotations in both. I'm a path resident.

Of course, genetics is A LOT more clinically oriented than path. The clinical portion of genetics deals with metabolism and dysmorphology and reminded me of pediatrics. You also have prenatal consults and cancer genetics (BRCA counselling/testing etc). There's a lab portion but you need extra training to be able to work in a genetics lab. There are many kinds of ''genetics'' labs, and tests tend to be centralized, so what you'll do as a lab geneticist will vary a lot depending on where you work. That being said, you have metabolism labs (amino acids etc), cytogenetics labs (CGH, karyotypes, probably the most common type of lab) and the newer molecular labs (microarrays, westerns, PCR, new gen sequencing eventually etc). There's a bit of overlap between path and genetics in molecular, but usually, path takes care of solid tumours. Once again, who can do what varies a lot from institution to institution. There are almost always phds and an army of techs working in those labs and the MDs (geneticists or path) usually do some quality control stuff and validate the studies.