Premed 101 Forums
Sign in to follow this  
doctorbetty

trying again

I gave up on pursuing medicine in 2007, but that little voice inside my head will not give up… I keep coming back to this goal of becoming a doctor even after all these years. (I am 37 now)....

In 2007, I applied to U of C and U of A. Interviewed at U of A and didn’t get in… Since then, I’ve gotten a second degree in nursing. I graduated nursing in 2013 and have been working as an RN for almost a year. Medicine keeps calling my name, especially since I can’t stop thinking about the biochemistry, chemistry, and physics of health and disease…. I also think that I would be in a better position to help my patients as a physician.

In my first Bachelor of Science degree (Molecular and Microbiology), I earned a 3.84 GPA. In my second Bachelor of Science degree (Nursing), I earned a 3.74 GPA. My first MCAT was in 2006 and was not the best (30M). Certainly not as good as it would have been if I would have applied myself more.

I want to apply for 2016 entry, so I will be writing the 2015 MCAT and studying my butt off for it! I have been looking for volunteering opportunities, but with a full-time RN job (in which my schedule changes from week to week), this is not easy…. Will a lack of volunteering hurt my application? How do my chances look?

I gave up on pursuing medicine in 2007, but that little voice inside my head will not give up… I keep coming back to this goal of becoming a doctor even after all these years. (I am 37 now)....

In 2007, I applied to U of C and U of A. Interviewed at U of A and didn’t get in… Since then, I’ve gotten a second degree in nursing. I graduated nursing in 2013 and have been working as an RN for almost a year. Medicine keeps calling my name, especially since I can’t stop thinking about the biochemistry, chemistry, and physics of health and disease…. I also think that I would be in a better position to help my patients as a physician.