Premed 101 Forums

University of Wollongong Student Here - Ask Me Anything!

Hey folks! I'm a Canadian student studying at the University of Wollongong's Graduate School of Medicine. I'm currently in my second year at the GSM and am heading into my end-of-phase exams in June. I know I used these types of forums a lot when I was figuring out where I wanted to go so I figured I'd return the favour. Ask me anything you've ever wanted to know about studying medicine in Australia and I'll do my best to answer.

Why did you go there vs a Canadian school? What's your plan for coming back?

Hey beared frog,

Good questions. It think the first question is the one I get most often. I'm a little bit of a non-traditional student. I already had two degrees under my belt before coming to Oz. My GPA wasn't stellar despite graduating with two honours degrees and I found myself sitting just under the interview bar. So, I figured I could either spend the next couple years wasting time with something else in an effort to increase my GPA or I could get on with my life and head elsewhere. I did a lot of research into the schools in other countries (looking mostly at the UK and Australia) and I found UOW's program the most appealing. Small class sizes, rural focused training, excellent faculty, research oppotunities, great facilities, and the list goes on :) I had always wanted to go abroad for some of my education and there was no time like the present.

What's your plan for coming back to Canada is coincidentally the second most common question :) Currently, my plan is to go into Family Medicine, so competition isn't quite as fierce as say General Surgery. On top of that I want to practice rurally so I don't mind taking a return of sevice agreement. Finally, I have some in-roads with a few doctors and a program director in my home province. While nothing is ever assured, I've been given hints that securing a residency won't be too much trouble for me.