Premed 101 Forums

Non-Trad Applicant Looking For Advice

Hey all, new to these forums and looking forward to some advice. I’ve got a lot of questions!

I’ve recently begun thinking about med school, and would like to have some advice for a plan of attack.

I am a BC resident, just graduated from UBC with a BA (Honours) in Philosophy. I’m thinking of eventually applying to UBC MED, but I’m curious what my chances are in other schools as well, so I’m open to advice in that area as well.

Before I give GPA stats, I have a few clarifying questions:

Does UBC use the grade conversion table found HERE (http://mdprogram.med.ubc.ca/files/2012/08/ADM_grade_conversion_tables.pdf) to convert its own grades as well as grades from other institutions?

Also, it looks like they use percentage and not the 4.0 GPA system for their applications, right?

If so, here’s my GPA stats in percentage, according to the UBC conversion table:

Year 1 (30 Credits): 83.8

Year 2 (30 Credits): 70.6

Year 3 (30 Credits): 85.4

Year 4 (27 Credits): 84.1

Year 5 (15 Credits): 85

Overall (top 102 credits, excluding year 2): 84.53

Here they are according to OMSAS GPA Calculation.. Is this standard in other med schools? Or is there another method I’m missing?

Year 1 (30 Credits): 3.7

Year 2 (30 Credits): 2.96

Year 3 (30 Credits): 3.74

Year 4 (27 Credits): 3.75

Year 5 (15 Credits): 3.86

Therefore, I think my overall (calculated from averaging the scores of each course, excluding the second year) is: 3.75

Now, obviously I would like to get Year 2 dropped, if possible. Otherwise my overall GPA/Percentage would drop significantly. UBC says on their website that the worst academic year can be dropped, “if you meet the criteria”. Does anyone know what those criteria are? I’ve searched, but can’t seem to find anything.