Premed 101 Forums

Anxiety And Depression

Hello all,

I'm posting because I have started to have serious problems with anxiety and depression since mid second semester of first year. I'm in 2nd year now but am debating taking a year off to regroup. 

My heart sincerely goes out to anyone who has had to deal with this since it is by far the most difficult and painful thing I've dealt with in my life. Like many of you, medicine has been my dream for quite some time now and I was on top of the world at the beginning of first year after working my butt off to get in. However, to me, it is definitely not worth the pain I am suffering from right now. I don't want to go to class, don't want to study and I have no motivation to socialize or play sports (things which I normally love doing!). It has really changed who I am. I am seeking as much help as I can right now but it is still really hard.

I am so stuck right now because I don't know what to do. On one hand, I want to take time off to help my mental health recover. On the other hand, it would suck to do this because all my friends would be moving on without me, I'd have to move back home, and worst of all, I would have no idea what to do with my time. Staying in school could be beneficial, but it could also make things worse. I've flip flopped many times about what to do. 

Has anyone out there had to take time off for mental health reasons? I've seriously debated just dropping everything. If this is what it's going to take to become a doctor then it is not worth it. I recognize that I must take care of myself first before my patients, but still don't know how to go about doing that. Any advice or similar stories would really help me out. I feel pretty alone although I do have a pretty awesome support system.

-POD

I am not in med school yet, but I have spent a lot of time managing anxiety and depression in my very busy life.