Premed 101 Forums

What Are My Chances Of Acceptance At Irish/uk Schools?

Hi, I would like to start off by introducing myself - I am a Canadian high school student from Calgary, Alberta, and I would like to study medicine in Ireland or in the UK. (I know the deadline for UK med schools was around 2 months ago but I would still like to know if I had a shot) :)

I have pretty good grades (except my English):

English: 85

Math: 95

Chemistry: 93

Biology: 92

Physics: 96

Spanish: (I'm sure they don't care about this mark, but just for the sake of it) 98

Law: (again, just for the sake of it) 92

Also, I have good extra-curriculars as well:

Approximately 240 hours of volunteering, including 50 hours at a hospital. I also volunteered as a food distributor to the homeless, a hockey referee, summer camp leader, etc.

I'm also part of the First Aid team in my school, where we are "on-call" twice a week to assist in any emergencies (we don't have nurses in our school).

I'm a Prefect, and was the captain of the school soccer team in Grade 11.

I'm primarily interested in TCD, UCD, NUIG, and UCC, I would like to come back to NA for residency. I know that coming back to Canada is close to impossible, but I'm completely fine with going to the US.

I have a few questions:

1) Given that I submit a good personal statement, and I obtain some good reference letters, what are my chances at these schools?

2) If I had applied to UK schools, which ones would've accepted me? (I know I would need to take the UKCAT, but I'm just curious).

3) How is student life at those schools (TCD and UCD specifically)? How are Canadian/American students treated?

4) I know that no medical school is considered easy to get through, but is the courseload at these schools intensive? What's the difference between the 5 and 6 year programs?

Thank you so much for your patience! I look forward to hearing back from you!

Sofabed