Premed 101 Forums

Things People Said To Me Around This Time Last Year

Just a little rant after an 8-hour shift on the Eve:

"I just don't see a doctor in you."

"Doctor sucks! I have no respect for doctors. Why do you even want to be a doctor?!" (said by a 35-year-old biomedical PhD student)

"You want to go to a med school? You??? Hahahahaha!!!!"

"Everytime I imagine you working as a doctor, I start to laugh" (went on to laugh)

"You can apply for med school all you want, but I just don't see it happening."

"Your priority is to find a job now. You need to go a community college and start getting licences for accounting/pharmacy technician/fill in the blanks."

"You think UofT would take you?! Ha!"

"Doctor sucks! I have no respect for doctors. Why do you even want to be a doctor?!" (said by a 35-year-old biomedical PhD student)

"Everytime I imagine you working as a doctor, I start to laugh" (went on to laugh)

"You can apply for med school all you want, but I just don't see it's happening."

"Your priority is to find a job now. You need to go a community college and start getting licences for accounting/pharmacy technician/fill in the blanks."

well that is motivational :)

Of course if I listened to anyone telling me what I should do I wouldn't have done anything interesting in my life.

"You can apply for med school all you want, but I just don't see it's happening."

Don't let the noise of others' opinions drown out your own inner voice... Steve Jobs said something like that. 

(Not at all saying that he's perfect or anything, just a nice quote I like to keep in mind when others throw similar remarks my way.)