Premed 101 Forums

Interview Advice & Case Studies

Hi everyone,

I hope all your interview preparations are going well. 

I'm currently a 2nd year med student at UBC. Awhile ago, after the faculty decided to matriculate me, I found myself with a large stash of notes from my own interview prep. It felt criminal to let all that go to waste so I decided to type some of it up. Of course, I then promptly forgot about the whole thing until recently when I found out that my page was getting an enormous of hits from I presume, anxious med applicants.  

So here's some tips/advice/case studies. When I was applying I found that the vast majority of information on the internet were either inaccurate, speculation or too anxiety-ridden to be reliable. The sieving process was unpleasant to say in the least and I don't wish the same fate on you guys. To the best of my knowledge, the information here is accurate and is borne largely from my own experiences applying. I'm not sure I would answer some of the questions the same way nowadays, but nevertheless, here it is. I hope this helps you during your prep. 

http://terriblemedstudent.blogspot.ca

Best of luck. 

Ted

Here's a sample:

Some general tips for MMIs

Bring something to eat.
An MMI is mentally taxing. It’s two hours of being “on”. It’s normal to be tired, or start to lose focus midway through the stations. I found it helpful to bring a granola bar, or some chocolate to re-energize during your rest station. If you’re a coffee drinker, make sure to eat something salty beforehand to balance out the diuretic effects.

Re-iterate the question to buy time.