Premed 101 Forums

Not Typical "canadian Applying For Medical School Abroad" Situation..

Hey guys,

First time posting. First and foremost- thank you in advance for this resource, it has helped me answer a lot of questions! But I need some advice for a specific situation, that I cannot find answers too!

I graduated Canadian high school in 2012, with good grades but no science courses. Over the last 8 months I have been going to an adult education center, taking all my prerequisite science courses and receiving high grades as well. I know the prospect of taking a year off (or in my case a few years) doesnt look good to medical schools, so I have been volunteering lots within the municipal health authorities; 'community clinics' and 'needle exchange'. And on top of that I have been working almost fulltime at a crappy job (which makes me want to do this even more).

I am going to apply to medical school hopefully in the UK, Ireland, and Australia (Pretty much everywhere that will do an undergraduate medical degree, and speaks english). I am aware of the entry tests and will be taking them as they come up.

I am aware of the International Medical Graduate problem when faced with trying to come back to Canada, so I am more than willing to spend the rest of my life (or the rest of my schooling) in one of these countries.

A friend I went to highschool with is doing the St. Andrews Canadian program. He told me a 90-95% overall average, fair UKCAT grades (he said he didn't even do too well on the UKCAT), and relevant volunteer experience. I think I can pull off those standards, but I'm not sure if he was just a fluke and that its actually way harder!

I need to know the real statistics here:

Q: What are the real odds:

->what are the optimal grades for a Canadian (BC) student?

->optimal hours and commitment to volunteer?

Q: Does taking my highschool science courses as an adult look bad to the admissions team?