Premed 101 Forums

Did I Just Ruin My Life?

So, I finished my undergraduate degree in 2013 at Western. I took a year (2013-2014) to do research and then decided to apply to med school. I've always had an interest in English but never took it during my Bachelor's degree because I knew it would be a GPA killer, so I thought, while I'm applying to med school, why don't I just go back for a fifth year, as a non-degree student, take English courses and just do a fun year for me, where my grades are not my biggest concern. 

I did just that, didn't take a full-course load, 4 courses each term, and applied to med school, got an interview at Queens, and am waiting to hear back. However, during my discussions with some Queens med students, I learned that my non-degree year may be counted towards my GPA if I were to apply again next year. I e-mailed several med schools who confirmed that they do consider the non-degree year. Clearly my grades this year do not represent what I am capable of because they are in courses that I took for pure interest and not for "studying" purposes; I never wanted to change my GPA because it was fine. Also, I took a full course load throughout my degree. Now, in this pain-in-the-neck non-degree year, I took 4 courses, which is not the full-five course load that U of T requires to grant the weighted GPA formula, so that means they will take a CGPA...which never works out. So I feel like this non-degree year may have just ruined all of my chances at med school if I have to apply again and I just can't wrap my head around how me choosing to go back to school rather than dick around for a year may have cost me my life...

So my question here is, is there a way for me to convince med schools to not consider this non-degree year in my GPA calculation? 

Thank you for all of your help,

Sincerely,

Sura