Premed 101 Forums

Received an email from Queen's to apply for the Goldman Sachs scholarship.  It seems like it's been sent to people with parents who are likely to be immigrants or something but my background is just Canadian..  did anyone else receive this email? seems like only a couple out of many i know received this too

Received an email from Queen's to apply for the Goldman Sachs scholarship.  It seems like it's been sent to people with parents who are likely to be immigrants or something but my background is just Canadian..  did anyone else receive this email? seems like only a couple out of many i know received this too

I got the email and have mostly Canadian heritage. Why do you think is 'seems like it's been sent to people with parents who are likely to be immigrants'? I feel that a university would not make assumptions about this sort of thing. I'm sure those that didn't receive it could likely find it in their junk mail or something. 

uh. because the letter literally stated "Preference will be given first to a student who self-identifies as the child of immigrant parents (both parents born outside of Canada)"...?   which i don't get. i have a european and south american background but my parents are born in Canada, so for people like me are we automatically not eligible to receive the only scholarship they offer.. it's confusing.

I wouldn't assume that. If the email guaranteed acceptance for all recipients, I mean what's the purpose of the 15th date..

Also hope I don't worry anyone who didn't receive the email... it wasn't my intention.. I was just curious about the nature of the scholarship. Like I said my parents are both from Canada.. so what now, make up the fact that they were born in Mars?

I wouldn't assume that. If the email guaranteed acceptance for all recipients, I mean what's the purpose of the 15th date..