Premed 101 Forums

Malaysian Medical Student Wanting To Work In Canada

Hi, i'm Jabraan and i'm new to the forums. I'm canadian born, and when i was young my family migrated to Malaysia. I'm currently studying medicine in Malaysia and I hope to someday return to Canada to serve as a doctor. 

However, I've read from many sources online that the job market for IMGs in Canada is very small and less than 10% of IMGs actually get matched to residency. I initially planned to take up MCCEE and MCCQE but I'm now very much discouraged to do so. 

My question is, if I take and complete USMLE and get into residency in the US(chances seem to be much higher). Would I then have better chances of getting licensed in Canada? Would I still need to take MCCEE and MCCQE? I've been digging around the web for some time now, but to no avail. Any help would be much appreciated. 

Hi, i'm Jabraan and i'm new to the forums. I'm canadian born, and when i was young my family migrated to Malaysia. I'm currently studying medicine in Malaysia and I hope to someday return to Canada to serve as a doctor. 

However, I've read from many sources online that the job market for IMGs in Canada is very small and less than 10% of IMGs actually get matched to residency. I initially planned to take up MCCEE and MCCQE but I'm now very much discouraged to do so. 

My question is, if I take and complete USMLE and get into residency in the US(chances seem to be much higher). Would I then have better chances of getting licensed in Canada? Would I still need to take MCCEE and MCCQE? I've been digging around the web for some time now, but to no avail. Any help would be much appreciated. 

You would likely have an easier time taking the USMLEs and doing a residency in the US, become fully licensed and then come to Canada after. Family Medicine will be the easiest route, though other specialties are possible..but with a bit more hoops to jump through.