Premed 101 Forums

I Hope This Helps Someone

Last year I was rejected and I went back to school to improve my grades (In reality I should not of applied). I found many posts on this forum to be inspirational and I hope I can do that for someone who maybe feeling unsure about their application. 

Schools applied to: UofT and Queen's OT

Rejected: Queen's 

Waitlisted: UofT 

cGPA: 3.04

sGPA: 3.39 (with the classes I took this fall 3.56)

Experience: I have a masters of science with 2 publications (not first author) many conference presentations and a fellowship award.  I was the Captain of a varsity team for 3 years and I teach squash. Experience related to rehab: I have been volunteering with a kids rehab hospital for 2 years and I have worked on two research projects with them. 

All the courses I did when I returned to school averaged out at a 3.93 - so they know I am academically competent. 

My references were from my master's supervisor and my supervisor for my research volunteer in rehab and I think they were good. I think my essays were also good, I focused on what I could bring to the field of OT and why I wanted to do it. For the trends, I related my research experience to the tends  I saw and proposed ways to deal with them. 

I was accepted off the UofT waitlist! 

All in all, grades while important are not everything and if you are truly passionate about your career choice it will show through and you have a shot! 

Congratulations!!! :) I heard that UofT gives preferences to those who come from a research background (not sure how true that is)

Thanks! I think they do, looking at their curriculum and having been at the school for previous degrees, I know they value research. I think it's interesting to see the difference between all the schools. Queen's just confuses me, I cant figure out what the look for haha

• 1 year later...