Premed 101 Forums

Job Search

I recently graduated with a Bachelor of Science (biology) and have been desperately looking for a job because I have 30k+ of loans and need money to apply to US schools. I have probably applied for over a 100 jobs, but no good news. I don't know what I am doing wrong, my resume is good (according to my university's career services), I worked 2 different jobs during my undergrad (research/lab and admin support), i have a lot of volunteer experience, good grades, etc. I cannot apply for the student jobs anymore since I am not a student. I need money to continue completing US school secondary applications and Canadian applications are due soon as well. Please help!

Im in the exact same boat but almost done MSc (even with work experience during and after university) :(

I applied to jobs from my field of research to Wal Mart and Shoppers jobs but no luck so far :(

Just hang in there :) You are not alone. Things will work out sooner or later!

Thank you! Hope you find a job that will let you use your education and experience and pays you accordingly. It really sucks to have gone through 4 years of education and still finding a job that needs me to use that education. 

Im in the exact same boat but almost done MSc (even with work experience during and after university) :(

I applied to jobs from my field of research to Wal Mart and Shoppers jobs but no luck so far :(

Just hang in there :) You are not alone. Things will work out sooner or later!

If you want a job at a place like Walmart or Shoppers, the key is to go in person and speak with the manager. Dress presentably (business casual), bring a resume, smile, and be polite. Ask to speak to the manager, and tell them that your story, elevator speech style (e.g. "I just finished my degree and I am taking a gap year looking for full time work, I've done similar work doing X at Y.).