Premed 101 Forums

15 Inch Screen For Notes?

Hey! I've been using a 15 in MBP for 3 years now (for undergrad though) and I'd say it definitely works well for taking notes. You can have your notes and slides side by side without any appreciable loss in text size.

Major drawback: it is 2x as heavy as Macbook Airs.

As someone who's worked at Apple for the last year, unless you plan on doing some serious video editing, gaming, processing huge amounts of data or other similarly processor/graphics intensive applications, you really don't need a 15" MBP for school. The only reason to get it is if you really really prefer the larger screen, otherwise a 13" MBP or 13" Air will be totally fine for school.

I had a 15" MBP that I was lugging around to school. My spouse needed a laptop for work so that machine became a hand me down. I went with a 13" one since it was a bit lighter and easier to takes notes on (Hello Tory building  :P). I know that as a med student, you'll have access to more desk real estate, but the weight becomes a factor when you're carrying it around all day.

I had a 15" MBP that I was lugging around to school. My spouse needed a laptop for work so that machine became a hand me down. I went with a 13" one since it was a bit lighter and easier to takes notes on (Hello Tory building  :P). I know that as a med student, you'll have access to more desk real estate, but the weight becomes a factor when you're carrying it around all day.

haha oh tory, why do you torture us so? 

From what I heard, a lot of med students like to carry around their books, lunch, gym clothes, etc. so saving some weight on a laptop might do wonders. 

I found during my pre-clerkship the bigger the size of screen that I'm studying off of, easier it was on my eyes. Still, I only had 13' mac

because I was too cheap to go for 15'. Regardless, either is fine. In clerkship though, I found carrying a 15' would have been more