Premed 101 Forums

Is Anyone Else Lonely?

Ektime

Hi,

Been a visitor to this board for a while but never really posted.

Quick intro about me: Applied twice to medical school (2013 and 2014) didn't get any interviews and will be applying again this year..

But I am lonely. I currently have no real relationships. I used to have really close friends during highschool and university but once I graduated, a couple of them moved to other cities for work, med school, or to pursue a grad degree. I still try to keep in touch with them as they are pretty much all i have but I only see them once every 3 months or possibly longer.

I've also never been successful in the romantic aspect of life. I was never in a relationship and could literally count the number of "dates" I've had in my entire life (Think less than 3 haha... I'm not sure if they are even considered "dates" haha). 

I try to keep these things off my head for most of the time.. but sometimes it just gets to me. I work everyday full time... when I come home I mostly hit the gym and then just relax and get lost in my thoughts while listening to music before heading to bed..

I'm very curious to know how much of an outlier I am in the premedical and medical student groups. Does any one share similar feelings? I'm not here to rant away pointlessly.. after all I chose to post in a forum where there is probably a plethora of open-minded and critical thinkers, pursuing medicine like myself, that could provide some input, for a reason.

I was similar until I moved far away from home for a year. Did terrible in school that year, stopped caring and ended up with a gf who I just recently broke up with.

Single + Video games + Gym (get aesthetic brah) is best life, serious. Having said that I always talk to my brother and cousins on a regular basis which keeps me sane

Hi,

Been a visitor to this board for a while but never really posted.