Premed 101 Forums

Could Use Some Opinions. 5 Year Irish Medical Program?

I'm an undergraduate halfway through my second year and I'd love an opinion about my situation from anyone really. I'm very strongly considering Ireland for medical school for a few reasons. I have an EU passport so I am guaranteed a residency if I finish. I've always wanted to leave my city honestly. I've lived here all my life, the average price of an old house in my city just hit over 1.8 million dollars and is rapidly rising. My city has just been ranked third most expensive for housing in the world. It is absolutely insane. Raising a family here is not something I see myself doing anymore. I realize the tuition for Ireland is way higher but I'm extremely interested in a career as a psychiatrist. It's not a decision I have made lightly and I've done extensive research and talked to some practicing psychiatrists. I am in a financial position to put a serious dent in the fees for an Irish med school. I'd still graduate with debt, but not as much and I could probably pay it off within a few years. So these are my primary reasons for wanting to leave and consider an Irish school seriously.