Premed 101 Forums

How Is One W On Your Transcript Perceived?

Hi guys, 

So I found out only a week ago that the UBC has decided to drop all prerequisites (except for English) for applicants (decision was passed Jan 21st).

This sucked for me as I had applied to complete Biochem online (my only missing prereq) through Athabasca U in December and therefore I am ineligible for a refund or withdrawal without a permanent "W" on my transcript. I really want to withdraw from the course as I am only 2/13 done, and I can focus more on my research/ECs/TAing (I'm a first year MSc student) but I am afraid that this one W will be perceived as poor academic commitment. 

Any thoughts or suggestions? Also do we have to disclose EVERY single transcript to UBC even if we only complete (in my case just withdrew from) one course at that school? 

Hi guys, 

So I found out only a week ago that the UBC has decided to drop all prerequisites (except for English) for applicants (decision was passed Jan 21st).

This sucked for me as I had applied to complete Biochem online (my only missing prereq) through Athabasca U in December and therefore I am ineligible for a refund or withdrawal without a permanent "W" on my transcript. I really want to withdraw from the course as I am only 2/13 done, and I can focus more on my research/ECs/TAing (I'm a first year MSc student) but I am afraid that this one W will be perceived as poor academic commitment. 

Any thoughts or suggestions? Also do we have to disclose EVERY single transcript to UBC even if we only complete (in my case just withdrew from) one course at that school?