Premed 101 Forums

Should I Find A New Career?

I have been a paramedic for a year. I went to school for it and did decent during the writing part but not as well in my clinical time but I still got through it. I only work about 4-8 shifts a month and I am not improving at it, I'm not getting better. I thought that if I kept going with it, it would get better but it has not. 

I am not happy with this job any more but I can't tell if it is because of my lack of experience or the fact that I am not good at it. 

Also, my manager has just put me through a mentorship program and it is just about to start to help me improve at my job (so clearly it is a problem). 

Should I keep trying as a paramedic or find a new career and explain why please?

What made you decide to go into this career field? Maybe reflect upon those reasons and see if there's another related that be of interest to you (physio, occupational therapy, perhaps?). But my vote is also to finish the mentoring program and see how it goes from there since it's only a month long. Also maybe try talking to co-workers who've been in the field for awhile to get some perspective. 

I have been a paramedic for a year. I went to school for it and did decent during the writing part but not as well in my clinical time but I still got through it. I only work about 4-8 shifts a month and I am not improving at it, I'm not getting better. I thought that if I kept going with it, it would get better but it has not. 

I am not happy with this job any more but I can't tell if it is because of my lack of experience or the fact that I am not good at it. 

Also, my manager has just put me through a mentorship program and it is just about to start to help me improve at my job (so clearly it is a problem). 

Should I keep trying as a paramedic or find a new career and explain why please?