Premed 101 Forums

Any Questions About Mcmaster In General Or The Niagara Regional Campus?

Hey everyone,

My name is Daegan and I'm a first year medical student over at the Niagara regional campus. Let me know if you have any questions from a student's perspective. Please note that the views I represent here are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of McMaster University or the McMaster Niagara Campus. 

Daegan

Hi Daegan!! :)

I can also offer my perspective from the NRC. Again, just personal opinions:

How did you feel after your interview?

Felt good for the most part, some shaky stations, but there's no use thinking about it afterwards, so I learned to let it go and go about my life as normal :P

Did you find you left the MMIs confident?

Yes for the most part (some of it was probably feigned confidence), but this really has no bearing on the outcome in my opinion. I had done several MMIs in the past (previous cycles, other schools) and felt confident from those too and have been waitlisted or outright rejected.

What made you choose Mac? 

It was my only option :D having said that, if I could choose, I still would've picked Mac. I like the autonomy of studying at my own pace and learning through discussing with other ppl as opposed to having a lecturer talk at me for hours (though that is available too). I also like the idea of finishing one year earlier as an older student. You still have plenty of opportunity to immerse yourself in shadowing/elective experiences if you wish to explore different types of medicine.

Did you rank Niagara first? 

Nope, ranked it last. Happy for once I didn't get what I wanted though because I do like it here very much now. I ranked it last simply because I didn't know much about it and admittedly didn't put in the time to find out. I think I'm the odd one out though, as most of my classmates here did rank it first if not second.

Not sure how I'd rank the campuses at Mac when I have to post-interview...