Premed 101 Forums

Advice Needed: Commuting

Hi everyone,

Looking for advice from some current Mac med students on workload and balancing it all.

Attending med school has been a life long dream of mine. I'm a mature student, and giving up an established career with a high salary to pursue it.  I was absolutely elated yesterday when I received my acceptance to Mac.

A bit of background about myself: I'm engaged and in a blended family.  My fiancée has kids and relocating to Hamilton is not an option for us.  There also won't be room in the budget for a second accommodation in Hamilton, in addition to maintaining our household in Toronto.

So the only way this can work is for me to commute.  I realize this won't be ideal and am willing to make the sacrifice.  Looking for any advice from current Mac Med students who may have commuted and how difficult it was to balance it all.

Since I will be going against traffic, the drive time will be 50 minutes if I leave early enough (and worst case scenario an hour and 15 minutes if  leave in rush hour- which I will obviously avoid at all costs).  I also have family in Burlington, and I plan on crashing there two nights a week so that I'm only making the long commute three times a week.

Is this totally insane or do-able?

It's going to be hard, but it's doable. I commuted from Mississauga to Mac for all of med school, and know people who commuted from Toronto and Vaughan, which are similar drive times as yours, and we all made it through the other end ok. ;) We all did the commute for similar family reasons, which made it worth it - it definitely wouldn't be worth the effort to commute if it was just to save money.