Premed 101 Forums

Is 1 Month Study Plan Feasible?

foodie123

I'm going into my final year, and I'm currently taking the last few prerequisites now in summer school, which ends in August. I took all the other prequisites this past school year. I was thinking of doing a few days of review then focusing on practice questions for the MCAT between August and September, and then writing it in September. This would also mean that I wouldn't know my scores until after I applied to the schools. 

Has anyone done this successfully? Any feedback? Thanks in advance :)

I wrote the old MCAT twice. Both times I studied for 3 weeks, and both times I scored above the 5th percentile. That being said, I don't know anyone else who has, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. It depends on who you are (are you already great at standardized tests, and do you know how to isolate and study for 12+ hours a day?), your study resources (do you have a well regarded & organized source to study from), and your support network (who's cooking, cleaning, and doing the chores while you cram?).

My suggestion is find a way to start studying 2 hours a day, starting today. I like studying for 2 hours as soon as I get up, before getting out of bed, checking my phone etc... That + 4 intense weeks later on will work, given that your answers to the above questions are favourable.

I'm going into my final year, and I'm currently taking the last few prerequisites now in summer school, which ends in August. I took all the other prequisites this past school year. I was thinking of doing a few days of review then focusing on practice questions for the MCAT between August and September, and then writing it in September. This would also mean that I wouldn't know my scores until after I applied to the schools. 

All depends on how much background knowledge you have. I studied ~2 months while working 4/days week but I almost entirely skipped studying for Biology/Orgo because I had that background.