Premed 101 Forums

Please Consider Taking The Usmle.

To all med students, especially those that just got admitted (congrats!):

Even if you never thought of working in US, or would not work there for whatever reason, PLEASE consider taking at least Step 1 while in med school. Aside from few hundred dollars you won't regret it. And one day, for whatever reason, you wish/need/fancy to work in the US, even for some temp gig, and is in need of a H1B visa, you'll thank yourself for having done Step 1 while in med school

PS. Wannabe surgeons: in case you haven't heard, job market in Canada is generally not too hot. Don't get stuck as a PGY-15.

While the ambiance of this post is not that of the classical specimen attributable to the poster, it is an outpouring of genuine solicitude towards those that may be affected.

As an incoming medical student, I am slightly concerned that you were sufficiently motivated to make this post.

That being said, I am reluctant to write the USMLE as I really don't see myself living in America, nor anticipate pursuing a specialty with a poor job market. (Of course this is all tentative--but I'm about as certain as I could possibly be at this point).

It would also be a bit of an annoyance writing it during a 3 year program.

I guess for anyone who has written the USMLE, is it like the MCAT where its difficulty is often exaggerated or is it really as ridiculous and oriented towards basic science minutiae as suggested (step 1)?

Thanks. 

If I have not seen and heard from many residents (including surg, ICU, GI) about how difficult they are finding jobs, and how it's making their life miserable despite overcoming hurdles starting from the days of MCAT, then I wouldn't be so inclined to write.

Also in case you haven't noticed, due to budgetary constraints many provinces are coming down hard on MDs. Just do a quick Google search on the negotiation in ON and you'll get a good feel as to how far governments are willing to go.