Premed 101 Forums

Why Do So Many People Start Studying For The Mcat So Late?

Hello all,

I've been browsing and reading a bunch of topics about studying for the MCAT here on this fine site and on **DELETED**, and one of the most common things that I've noticed is that students tend to start studying only 1 - 4 months prior to the exam. Why is that? I've always figured that I when it comes my turn to write the test I would start studying at least 1 year prior to my test date, gradually ramping up the study time as the test date approached. For such an important, critical life goal, I would have assumed that, generally speaking, one would put significantly more effort into preparing for this test than what I've observed. Thoughts?

1 year is overkill.  You will likely burn out or "over-study"

^^^ This!

I started studying about 2.5 months before I wrote the MCAT. I studied it full time though, meaning 9 am until 6 pm with a 1 hr lunch break, 6 days a week (I actually time myself also, so this was legitimate study time, no Facebook/internet breaks). When I finished studying I felt fairly confident I knew enough. I scored decent enough, and if I had another 0.5 month - 1 month to really refine my test taking ability I probably would have done better. However, studying for more than 3-4 months definitely would have been overkill and would have caused burn out.

The problem too is that the more you cram in, the longer your review sessions have to be, or else you start to forget things. Straight up learning the material is only half the battle, the other half is remembering it and cross-appointing (can't think of a better word) to other related topics. For example, studying optics in the physics section and then consolidating that knowledge with the eye in the bio section and bringing it together with how we see the world under the pysch/soc section. For me, that took longer than the learning/memorization part.