Premed 101 Forums
skylerjc

Be Realistic And Honest; What Are My Chances?

Hey guys,

So I'm currently a student at the University of Toronto (Scarborough) and I'm about to go into my 4th year pursuing a double major in Human Biology and Psychology (HBSc.). As of now my current GPA is a 2.83 and by the end of my final year I hope to at least bump it up to a 3.0-3.18; which is the only realistic goal I can work to obtain at this point. I'm trying to look into research opportunities and all I really have in terms of any relevant scientific/volunteer experience is about 10 months of volunteering at a local hospital (while my other extracurriculars just involve working administrative jobs on campus and leadership experiences). I'd appreciate any form of guidance from you guys as to what I should do from here on out to maximize my chances and please don't hesitate to be honest. I'm just at a loss right now and so disappointed in myself for ruining my undergraduate standing to a point where I don't see any hope in terms of getting into school in Canada. I would like to know if you guys have any other suggestions on other possible pathways that I can embark on in hopes of still achieving that dream. Thanks everyone.

A year by year breakdown as well as courseload per year would make it easier to provide suggestions. As it stands you will need to ace your 4th year (3.9+) and likely need 1-2 more years of undergraduate studies at the least.

If you get 2 years with a solid GPA while meeting Western's courseload requirements you will have chances at both Western and Queen's. A third year with a 3.9+ will put you in the running for Ottawa (which only looks at your last 3 years and for now does not consider the MCAT).

You will need a very good MCAT score for both Western and Queen's. I would prepare to write it next summer right after your 4th year while applying for medicine at the same time.