Premed 101 Forums

How Do You Guys Manage Fitness With School?

hotlinebliiing

Hey all, starting dentistry this fall. I'm usually active in the gym during summers but have never successfully finished a term while also being in the gym consistently.

My days are 8-5, after which id want to study until around 10-11. So I'd have to get up around 530 to workout. 530-630 workout, 630-730 get ready and head out of the door. I don't want to workout at school, because I'd rather not be sweaty while trying to study. Haha.

Is it possible to do this while in dental school? Some days I'm sure I'll be studying so late until around midnight. How do I manage? Any tips?

Studying for 5 hours a day after work/school is overkill even for Royal College studying... and a recipe for burnout. 

As a resident, I just go running or to yoga a few times every week. Just make a bit of time for it. Now, if you want to maintain some kind of aggressive weight training program, it might be harder as you go farther on, but then I've always thought that the gym was beyond boring. 

No one ever studies that much. If anything, go workout after your classes 5-6pm to destress from the learnings and give your mind a break so if you want to do any review in the evening, you're less burnt out.

And find ways to enjoy it too. If anything, go for a walk/run outside to calm your mind or play sports with people in your class. It won't even seem like any extra work or stress to fit in because you'll have fun.

Yup. Typically they will bring you before the Academic progress comittee and place you under an academic contract. They also decide how you will remediate. If you don't meet expectations while under contract (for example failing the rewrite) you can be required to repeat the year or withdraw from medical school entirely.

Hey all, starting dentistry this fall. I'm usually active in the gym during summers but have never successfully finished a term while also being in the gym consistently.