Premed 101 Forums

Just Got Diagnosed With General Anxiety Disorder. What Are Your Experiences? I'm A Bit Lost.

It's really a catch all, there are plenty of things you can do (that im hoping they touched upon) to work on it. First and foremost is regular exercise and a good diet. Not universal, but plenty of GAD diagnosis aren't really that accurate. 

It's really though about what functional impacts it has on your day to day life. Anxiety is a normal part of life, and your grades are solid - so its not like Anxiety is preventing you from doing well. Unless of course you are really a genius 4.0 individual who is underperforming to their "true" potential.

Talk to your doctor of course first and foremost, but regular daily exercise, a good diet, proper sleep and coffee are probably going to be just as effective if not better than Rx.  

OP I went undiagnosed until my third year of undergrad, and struggled enormously up to that point. I finished my first degree with a 2.5 GPA having attended very little class, failing to make an impression on any professors, and really failed to thrive whatsoever socially. I had functioned at an extremely low level. What stood out to me was what you said about being "unsure" about ti for a number of years. A lot of people don't understand why it took me so long to get a diagnosis and seek the appropriate help. I think for the longest time I was in denial, and also didn't want the stigma of being "labeled" and also had a few negative experiences within the healthcare system that reinforced why I was reluctant to return to a GP. Instead of saying "there's something wrong here" I just assumed that I was a terrible person, unintelligent, unambitious, and didn't deserve to ever do something like medicine.