Premed 101 Forums

Are There Any Medschools That Accept Applicants From Non Science Backgrounds?

I graduated with a BA in psychology and have recently decided I'd like to pursure medicine (interested in psychiatry or possibly family medicine). I don't have a science background at all. I didn't take chemistry or physics in high school. I know McMaster accepts non science applicants and only the CARS section of the MCAT is looked at but I am not an Ontario resident so even though my GPA is high I think odds are slim.

Any other schools in Canada or even international/overseas that accept applicants from non science backgrounds/no MCAT?

I actually am studying psychology as well and have a minimal background in things like chemistry although I did take some in high school. As far as med schools in Canada go, I know that NOSM doesn't require the MCAT or a science degree but this is mainly for rural medicine and applicants tend to be from Northern Ontario. I've heard of a few people from rural communities outside of Ontario getting in but overall, chances are almost non existent. But if you are from a rural community, might be worth a shot? Many schools don't require you to have any pre requisite science courses anymore, but do require the MCAT so that is your biggest obstacle. My advice would be to spend a good 8-12 months studying/getting exposure to biology, general/organic/bio chem, and physics. You don't necessarily have to go back to take them in university officially since that could harm your GPA, but investing in a qualified tutor to show you the basics is important. Practice a lot. Do tons of practice tests. Once you are scoring good on the practice tests, write the MCAT.