Premed 101 Forums
Maverick

I Have 2 Days To Decide If I Should Retake My Mcat

Prior to my July 22nd I had studied about 1 month and 2 weeks, INTENSELY. I completed the SBs avg. ~75, 90+ in the Qpacks (except for CARS).

• AAMC Unscored: 90/85/82/82 (5 days before exam)
  • AAMC OG: ~82 (1 week before)
  • EK 1: 70% (2 weeks before)

Please keep reading after this:

My real MCAT score for the July 22nd test was: 514 (130/127/128/129) ... I did best in the sections I thought I bombed and worst in bio which I thought I killed, it's hard to tell with CARS.

After July 22nd I kept studying for an Aug. 25th retake (since I knew I wasn't nearly as ready as I'd like to be) I completed 7 more full lengths and reviewed more:

• NS1: 514 128/126/130/130

• NS2: 511 128/127/129/127

• NS3: 512 128/126/130/128

• NS4: 512 128/127/129/128

• EK2 (taken ~2 weeks ago): 77%

• EK3: 75%

• AAMC scored 519 130/128/131/130 (taken a week ago)

I am a UBC student, 90% avg./3.95 OMSAS and probably below avg. EC's, average AT BEST I'd think. I was hoping to apply to UofT, UBC, Mac, Queens, Western, Ucalgary, UofA. The 127 CARS has cut me out of 4 schools and I have practiced A LOT more since. I really dont know what to do...is the risk too great to retake (the main risk is doing worse but I know I am capable of better, and have sacraficed so much to keep preparing for August 25th and felt 1/10th as ready before July 22nd).

Hmmmmm. This is a really tough one. I know some of those schools let you choose your best score while some make you choose your most recent. 7 vs. 3 is a huge difference as well.