Premed 101 Forums

Course Based Vs. Thesis Based Master's

So I am a BC resident with some GPA issues. I applied to UBC this cycle with an aGPA of. I think my ECs are good but I do realize I need basically a miracle to get an interview and I have yet to have my ECs judged by UBC anyway so who knows. I've already done 5.5 years of an undergrad degree and am now done the requirements to graduate. My grades show an extreme upward trend with a competitive >3.8 wGPA for Queens, so I applied there as well (however it seems theres a lot of luck to get a Queens interview so while I am hopeful I'm also pretty realistic.) ALSO I'm not full course load so Western is a no go.

Assuming I get 0 interviews, I'm thinking of doing a Master's degree. I noticed there are some course-based program which offer around 50 credits worth of courses. Considering UBC considers grad and undergrad courses equal this might be a feasible way to bring up my GPA. Does anybody have experience with this? Specifically an MPH? 

I am also interested in some thesis-based programs however they seem to only have about 12 credits of courses. This is like 1 semester which I feel like wouldn't do much... Does anyone know if its possible to do more courses in a thesis based masters? 

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Hi there, 

It took me a while to dig up but I found my post that extensively talks about this exact topic

The context is here: http://forums.premed101.com/index.php?/topic/86360-course-based-vs-research-based-masters/#entry960539

My post is in italics