Premed 101 Forums

What Is The Best Mcat Prep Book For True Beginners?

And when I say true beginner I mean someone who is in a non science major and does not even have the last year of high school chemistry/biology/physics. I think the highest level I have is chem and pre calculus 11. 

I would like to study for the MCAT without having to major in a science or take any pre requisites. I might see about just sitting in for some courses but overall I need a detailed prep guide that really lays out the foundations. I am also willing to hire an independent tutor/take a prep course I just need to be able to meet the criteria to apply to a handful of schools in Canada. 

Any suggestions/advice greatly appreciated. I'm in my second year but going into third Spring 2017. Ideally I would like to be able to write the MCAT by July or August and apply next cycle once I have 90 credits. 

wikipedia-print.jpg

The MCAT is basically 1st year bio + physics + chem + ochem + biochem + english. You are essentially asking for a book that covers all of those topics in enough detail to prepare a novice for what is basically a confirmatory test. MCAT prep books that I have read (granted this was 7 years ago) pretty much summarize what you need to know and have a quick review, I haven't come across one that would be up to the task of taking someone with a grade 12 level science education and leaping them into second year of university.

There are prep courses but be warned these are usually quick reviews of what is assumed to material that has been covered before. Some cities will have MCAT tutoring and year long prep courses which essentially cover all the material in the MCAt but I haven't heard of this outside Vancouver and Toronto. Plus they are expensive and very time intensive.