Premed 101 Forums

Is It True Reference Letters Are Worth 20%? Concerned About Generic Letters...

Hi all! So I heard that reference letters are weighed quite heavily, around 20% of an applicant's file review score. Is this true? And if so, I'm concerned that it may negatively impact my chances. I have plenty of research experience and solid extracurriculars, high GPA, but in terms of my letters, I am concerned that my lab demonstrator and professors had weaker letters, as they are not native English speakers. I chose my references based on how well they knew me and how appropriate they were, not necessarily their writing ability. Now I am very concerned that my letters may be an obstacles, which is not fair at all when we can't really control that. :( And even after interview I heard the letters are still weighed a lot...  :confused:

1) chill

2) chill some more

3) yes they are highly weighted but they have a tight distribution meaning pretty much everyone gets the same score for their letters. letters are kind of a remnant of the old system where powerful people would write something on your behalf and that would get you in. I honestly see a day where they are gone completely because they are practically useless as everyone will have good letters.

I promise you that you are not the only person with letters from a person whose first language is not English. Fortunately it is not a grammar contest and on the flip side they will possibly be read by someone whose first language is not English.

The old adage is that letters can't help you they can only hurt you. They may contain red flags about your character or performance but that will be on you and who you decide to write them, not the native language or writing skills of the person providing them. 

1) chill

2) chill some more