Premed 101 Forums

High School Regrets/your Experience

Hello everyone!

I'm a grade 12 student going into general sciences at the University of Alberta next year with high aspirations of making it to emergency medicine one day! Recently, we had a info session at our school regarding medical school and it really scared me because it seemed like everyone had their ECs together since birth. I am an AP student, I work two jobs (tutoring center and student researcher), volunteer, and have leadership positions in multiple clubs within my school. Some people are telling me that none of this counts for med applications, while others are telling me it's not enough.

My question is: what did you do in high school and would you do anything differently if you could go back? Do you suggest focusing more on grades or ECs?

Thank you all so much! This forum has been life-changing.

First off: deep breath, everything is ok.

Now, take another.

You are fine. first myth: you can't use high school stuff on an application. Lie. I used my high school volunteering and it happened 10 years before I had applied (I was an older applicant). High school grades don't count for anything towards med, where they matter is in getting you into university and getting you scholarships. If ever you could slip up on a course high school is the time. No med school asks for high school grades. Your extracurriculars are great, keep at it and stay engaged in things that you love to do and get meaning from and enjoy.