Premed 101 Forums

Advice For Non Medical Student

So I am writing to you in hopes of getting advice from students who have pursued programs in BSC, nursing, medical school etc. I completed high school and studied a B.A. right now i am working in education (not a teacher, but an assistant) but I hope to return back to school and study a Bsc part time while working full time. I have no science background because I never took science in high school. I would like to go back and become a nurse or maybe even pursue a bsc and later go into nursing. I will be enrolling in online courses to complete my biology, chemistry and also upgrade my math credits. I just want to know from experienced students what the course load is like and also the success rate in achieving a high GPA because Who knows if all goes well i can apply to med school. If i do get in, even for general sciences would it be better for someone who has no science background to take their time and go part time (1 course a week) for a better success rate? I dont plan on going full time again unless I get into a really good program.

Hi Lotus,

There is a lot going on in your post so I am going to focus on a few main points to get you started. You seem to be using nursing, a bachelors degree in science, and medical school interchangeably, which is in fact not the case. They are all very different programs with different criteria for admission and also very different outcomes following graduation. I would suggest you do a bit more research to clarify exactly what it is you are hoping to achieve with the degree and also what your plans are for your education.